Archive Project Schedules so they are still visible in Reports

Summary

Step 1: Set up a security group for users that are not administrators

Step 2: Set up an Archive security category

Step 3: Un-publish all project tasks

Step 4: Archive the project team site

Step 1: Set up a security group for users that are not administrators

The administrator sets up the “All Non-Admin Users” group security group that contains all users except for administrators. We will use this to deny access to these projects to the users but not Administrators. This will force Project Pro to never see these project with the File > Open command resulting in performance improvements.

To create a security group for users who not administrators:

1. On the Quick Launch, under Settings, click Server Settings.

2. On the Server Settings page, under Security, click Manage Groups.

3. Click New Group.

4. In the Group Information section, type All Non-Admin Users in the Group Name box.

5. In the Users section, in the Available Users box, select the names of all users that are not administrators, and then click Add to move them to the Selected Users box.

6. Click Save.

Step 2: Set up an Archive security category

Once the administrator has created the All Non-Admin Users group, the next step is to create an Archive security category. During this process, the administrator chooses which projects to archive by including them in this category.

1. To create an Archive security category:

2. On the Quick Launch, under Settings, click Server Settings.

3. On the Server Settings page, under Security, click Manage Categories.

4. On the Manage Categories page, click New Category.

5. In the Name and Description section, type Archive in the Category Name box.

6. In the Users and Groups section, under Available Users and Groups, click All Non-Admin Users, and then click Add to move the group to the Users and Groups with Permissions box.

7. Under Permissions for All Non-Admin Users (Group), select the Deny check box for all permissions.

8. In the Projects section, select Only the projects indicated, and then click the name of the project you are archiving in the Available Projects box.

9. Click Add to move the project to the Selected Projects box.

10. Click Save.

Note Be sure NOT to select any of the check boxes listed under Apply the above Project security permissions to all projects where. Doing so may create permissions issues on other projects and resources.

Tip Select the Deny check box for each top-level permission node (Project and Resource) to deny all permissions indented below each node.

Step 3: Un-publish all project tasks

If the project has previously been published with Assignments you will want to remove the project and its tasks from their views by un-publishing all tasks in the project you are archiving.

1. How to un-publish all project tasks:

2. On the Quick Launch, under Projects, click Project Center.

3. Click the name of the project you are archiving in the Project Name column.

4. On the Task tab, in the Project group, click the arrow on the Edit button, and then click In Project Professional.

5. In Project Professional 2010, scroll to the far right column in the table portion of the Gantt Chart view, click the Add New Column header, and then click Publish. If the Gantt Chart view already has the Publish column displayed, skip this step.

6. In the Publish column for each task in the project, click No.

7. On the File tab, click Publish.

8. Once the project is published, close and check in the project.

Note Un-publishing a task does not remove any accepted and applied work from the project. However, any update approval history associated with a task is deleted.

Step 4: Archive the project team site

Many projects use the associated project team site to gather information that complements the project schedule. You may want to ensure that this information is also archived. Microsoft SharePoint Server 2010 enables site-level backup. For more information on how the administrator completes this step, see Export a site, list, or document library (SharePoint Server 2010).

Once the site is backed up, the administrator can then delete the site.

To delete a project team site:

1. On the Quick Launch, under Settings, click Server Settings.

2. On the Server Settings page, under Operational Policies, click Project Sites.

3. Click the row containing the project team site that you backed up, and then click Delete Site.

4. Click OK to confirm the deletion.

Note: this step will remove Issues and Risks etc from Reports so it must be carefully planned out as to what sites we are allowed to Archive.

Archive a project by using an alternate method

The standard method of archiving is thorough and enables recovery, should you need it. However, extensive archiving isn’t always what an organization needs. Sometimes just hiding completed projects from view, or saving a project locally, is enough to meet your archiving requirements.

Here are a few alternatives to the above

Remove the project from the Draft database Another option is to ensure that the project is backed up to the Archive database, and then delete the project from the Draft, Published, and Reporting databases. If you need data from the archived project at a later time, use the Administrative Restore option on the Server Settings page to bring it back into the Draft database, and then republish the project.

Save the Project as an .MPP file If you want to remove the project completely from Project Server, another option is to open the project from Project Server by using Project Professional 2010, and then save the project as an MPP file. For more information, see the section titled, “Save your project locally,” in Save a project. We recommend that you save the project with all custom field data so that the MPP file is isolated from any additional changes made to custom fields in Project Server. Once you have saved and backed up the project as an MPP file, it may be deleted from Project Server. If you need to recover the project at a later date, you can open the MPP file in Project Professional 2010 while connected to Project Server, and then save the project to the server. For more information, see the section titled, “Save a local project to Project Server,” in Save a project.

Note Using this method will break any deliverable, issue, and risk links between the project and its project team site in Project Server.

Best practices for long-term archival

From time to time, the project MPP file format, the Project Server content database schemas, and the SharePoint site schemas can change to reflect new features. This can have an impact on backward compatibility to the extent that a project saved as an MPP file, an old backup of a Project Server content database, or a project team site backup may not be immediately usable.

A best practice is to always plan on including your archived content in your upgrade planning. This reduces the time to recover an old project that might require several upgrade steps otherwise.

Advertisements